Going home

I thought it would be harder to leave school than it actually was. Everyone was holed up in the library studying for exams so I wasn’t missing out on any ragers, and I didn’t want to be in my apartment because it was too sad looking at my empty bedroom…and because it was ridiculously dirty because we never clean it…so I just left.

I knew that it wouldn’t be too hard to leave. I knew it might be strange though. I do that thing where I look around while I’m driving by and say “this is the last time I’m going to have to stop at this stupid light for a looooong time!” The only moment of tears was after my parents had just finished helping me pack up my bedroom and my roommates came in to my room to give me a card and a picture frame with all of us in it. The card said:

“We are going to miss you so much next semester, but we understand why you need to go home. Get better fast so you can come back in the fall, and you better come back and visit us in the spring a lot! We love you!”

I left on a Tuesday night and drove home listening to Taylor Swift…I don’t normally listen to country but my roommate just burned her new cd for me. I didn’t think I would like it, but the music is surprisingly soothing and that’s what i needed for this ride home.

The hardest part is going to be staying home while everyone else is going back in January. I don’t know how I’m going to get through that.

~ by thetruthaboutjra on December 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
