Christmas Spirit

Christmas cookiesToday we did the annual “watching of White Christmas.” It’s this movie that was filmed in the 50’s and has Bing Crosby and Rosemary Clooney. My mom and sister and I are obsessed with it…we watch it every year… sometimes twice. If you haven’t seen it you have to watch it. My sister drove over for the day and my mom’s good friend came over to watch it with us while we made Christmas cookies. Dad made a fire and we had champagne and caught up on everything.

When I say we made cookies and drank champagne I really mean that they ate cookie dough and drank champagne while I watched, wishing I was. It was really hard to resist the cookies. I was so hungry all day even though I kept eating to try to keep me full. Vegetables and fruits do not fill you up at all. The more I eat the hungrier I get. It’s driving me crazy. The only thing I could figure out to do was to keep distracting myself from the cookies by eating other food and drinking tea and water. My last resort was to just walk away. I sat in the living room with the kitties for a bit to distract myself. The kitties are turning out to be a huge help. They can be addicting just like cookies. After the movie and decorating cookies I fell asleep on the couch with the black kitten (my parents just got two kittens, one black and one gray).

I think that because my body is detoxifying and because of the bad arthritis flare that I’m having, I’m getting especially tired. Taking a shower and vacuuming this morning was all I did and then I could barely stand by the time we started the movie at noon.

Anyway, the hardest part so far about being home and being on this strict diet has been to keep myself in the spirit of Christmas. It is hard to feel excited knowing that I won’t be able to eat cookies that we make, eat goodies that friends bring, or even eat christmas dinner. I am trying to focus on the non-edible parts of christmas, like making gifts for my family and decorating the house.

~ by thetruthaboutjra on December 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
