4-Day Juice Fast

The past few weeks I have taken a break from posting because I wasn’t sure how I felt about writing about my daily life. It feels strange writing about it online, but I am going to begin again because I think that it is important. It is important for people with autoimmune diseases to know what others are doing to fight back.

Yesterday I began a 4-day juice fast. It has always been very difficult for me though because I get uncomfortably hungry, so I also supplement it with a 1/2 cup of  steamed or baked veggies with no flavors or oils around noon and then again around 7pm.

Yesterday morning I made a juice of cucumber, cilantro, parsley, romaine, spinach, celery and ginger. I’ve been trying to do green and white veggies in the morning and red orange and purple veggies at night. I’m not sure why I’m doing that, maybe just to make it more interesting and pretty…when you mix all the colors it turns brown.

Anyway, I am doing this 4-day juice fast because over the weekend I began experiencing really bad wrist and finger inflammation and pain. It got so bad last week that my wrist would lock up and become immovable within minutes. Juice fasts are always good to do during a  flare because it eliminates any food allergens from the diet.

The massage therapists that I have been going to this past month all agree that I should be massaging and applying hot compresses to the joints to increase circulation, so I’ve also been doing that also.

So, I’ll be drinking liquid veggies and massaging my hands until next time.

~ by thetruthaboutjra on January 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
