Leaky Gut

Today I finally had to go to the grocery store because I found myself standing in front of the fridge just staring, hoping some vegetables would pop into the veggie bins.

december-08-014

I hadn’t been out of the house since we got back from the farm on Sunday…let’s just ignore my obviously non-existent social life please. So, I sucked it up and got dressed, went to the store, and got a shopping cart full of veggies and grapefruit. By the way, I finished the veggie juice fasting and it did not do as nice of a job clearing up my flare as I had hoped. So, I’m going back to eating healing foods which include:

Lots of fresh vegetables (minus carrots, celery, green beans and peas which I am allergic too)

Whole grains (rolled oats don’t count, they have to be steel cut)

beans, lentils, nuts, seeds, and limited amounts of small fish for protein (I say small to refer to fish low on the food chain. they are better because they have less heavy metal and other pollutant contamination)

The only fruits I eat are white grapefruit, avocados, granny-smith apples, lemons and limes. (I go with the granny-smith apples and white grapefruit specifically because these are low in sugar).

I make a lot of delicious soups from these foods, so I will post some recipes and pictures soon.

Anyway, the point of my post: I just got inspired by a comment and now I have to do another lecture on leaky gut syndrome and why doctors and scientists are beginning to link this syndrome to RA…and Celiac disease, Crohn’s disease, Environmental illness, Hives, Acne, Allergies, Inflammatory joint disease / arthritis, Intestinal infection, Pancreatic insufficiency, Ulcerative colitis, Giardia, Chronic fatigue syndrome, Eczema, Psoriasis, Food allergies and sensitivities, Liver dysfunction, Irritable bowel syndrome…from http://altmedicine.about.com/od/healthconditionsdisease/a/TestLeakyGut.htm

Leaky gut syndrome is basically when the intestinal barrier is compromised and undigested proteins, toxins, and other particles can enter your blood stream. These are all marked as foreign by your immune system, producing antigen-antibody complexes. In people with this syndrome, these complexes build up in the blood to a point where your body cannot handle them fast enough, so they are pushed into storage areas. In RA, these storage areas are the joints and any other part of the body that experiences inflammation. When the body gets around to it, the immune system begins to take care of these antigen-antibody complexes causing inflammation and swelling of the joints and the joint lining. Now, I am not a scientist and have not read official studies of this, but this is my basic understanding of this theory based off of several books by MDs. This is a very exciting theory that is being explored and being given a lot of attention these days because of its link to so many diseases. 80% of the immune system is located in the gut because this is where the most foreign substances enter the body. If your gut isn’t performing optimally, your immune system isn’t going to either.

So, if you have horrible RA, please read more into this. Google it. Get books on it. Find out more. It is worth the extra effort to get part of your body back, if not all. However, it takes discipline and time to heal you GI tract, which is why I am living at home until I figure out how to do it…if this is my real problem…

~ by thetruthaboutjra on January 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
