I have arthritis. You have what?!

I’ll preface this story by saying that I normally tell people without hesitation that I have arthritis. I don’t think twice about it. It really isn’t that big of a deal to me and I’m kind of like, I have arthritis, so what? I didn’t choose it and it sucks, what are you gonna do about it? Anyway, I think that if more people were open about having arthritis, I wouldn’t have had this reaction:

I’m visiting my friends at school this weekend and last night I went out with my old roommates to see a band play that they knew from high school. While we were sitting at the bar a guy came up to me and started talking to me like we knew each other. Apparently, I had met him maybe a year ago at a party or something… but I had absolutely no recollection of it whatsoever. It was pretty awkward. I am so terrible with remembering people and especially their names.  Anyway, the guy…is it terrible that I still don’t remember his name after last night?!…started asking me how my semester was going. Now, I know that he didn’t know that I was taking the semester off from school and living at home, so I could have easily said something like “It’s good, how about yours?” But noooooo, I had to tell him that I was taking the semester off from school and living at home. And then, when he asked me why, I had to go and tell him that I was taking the semester off for “health reasons” . He was a complete stranger. I shouldn’t talk to strangers! I shouldn’t have even said anything!

He kind of looked confused when I said “health reasons,” so I decided to explain myself by saying I have arthritis. Just like that. And do you know what that no good-backwards-baseball hat-wearing butt hole did? He laughed! He didn’t just laugh and then awkwardly stop and say, Oh, I’m so sorry that must be terrible. Nope. He actually continued to laugh for about 30 seconds while I sat there and looked at him. Well, about halfway through his laughing fit I had time to turn back to the bar and have a sip of my drink and turn back around. I have a response prepared for people who don’t take me seriously when I say I have arthritis. It goes something like this, “It’s called juvenile rheumatoid arthritis…I got it when I was in 6th grade.” Usually that puts people in their place if there was any question at all to my seriousness, but this guy…this immature ass… said “What…so do they like put the arthritis in jail…like juvie?” Hilarious. No, actually it was. I laughed. Then I got up and walked away.

Now I am going to tell as many people as I can that I have arthritis. Watch out world who doesn’ t think people under the age of 60 get arthritis.

Other than that tiny part of my night I’m having a good visit with all my friends at school. Tonight we have a social (I’m in a sorority at school and a social is when a fraternity invites a sorority over to their house and there is usually a theme, inordinate amounts of alcohol, and inappropriate dancing/behavior in general…) and the theme tonight is Pirates of the Caribbean. Kind of a lame theme. Then again, a bunch of frat boys dressed up like Johny Depp may be a really good thing.

By the way I’m missing home a tad. Here’s a kitty picture to make me feel less homesick.

january-2009-0081Meeko

He wouldn’t sit still when I was trying to take it, but you can still see why my mom and I spend about 5 hours a day playing with and obsessing over him and his brother. His brother isn’t very photogenic because he has black fur and his face disappears in photos (I still take photos of him though because he gets jealous if i only take them of Meeko.) I will try to get a good photo up soon.

~ by thetruthaboutjra on January 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
