“U might have RA if…”

Ok, this is the surprise. It’s not super, but it’s neat.

I promised myself that I wasn’t going to make this blog all about rheumatoid arthritis, but I have have have to let you guys read this…even if you don’t have RA…

So, before I started blogging, I joined the RAConnect community on the Arthritis Foundation’s website and found the Rheumatoid Arthritis Forum. There was a discussion started called “U might have RA if…” It made me laugh and made me cry. I copied portions of it here…(I hope this isn’t illegal or anything since I’m telling you where I got these convos from…The following quotes are directly copied and pasted from members of RA connect at this website (you may not be able to access it unless you are a member)

http://community.arthritis.org/forums/Topic4092030-1831-1.aspx

For your enjoyment…

“U Might have RA if… You’ve ever spent more then 20 minutes trying to figure out how to get out of a tub w/o using your arms or legs.

U Might have RA if… you’ve had to teach your hubby how to put on a bra.

U Might have RA if… your children imitate the frankenstien shuffle.

and finally…

U might have RA if… your wardrobe is organized not by season or color but by good days and bad.

****************************

you catch yourself daydreaming about what it would be like to instead have some dramatic and romantic disease, like maybe some highly curable form of cancer…how everyone would crowd around you and support you, tell you how brave you are, etc…instead of giving you those funny looks that say “are you sure this isn’t all in your head?”

Then you realize that you are fantasizing about having CANCER, for goodness sake, and you have to laugh at yourself and the absurdity of it all!

*****************************

This is my first post. I can’t believe someone else has day dreamed about having Cancer. That makes me feel better about myself.

U Might have RA when you can’t get to the bathroom at work because of the stairs and you have to quit drinking fluids. When you talk to the doctors at your works medical facility to try to work something out, they say “Well, what do you want me to do?! You have arthritis!” Maybe they think you forgot you were in constant pain.

*****************************

You sit on the toilet seat and can’t get up.

You know you are stiff and aren’t moving well, but you sit on the toilet seat anyway and then can’t get up. This is a reminder to take you pills before you go. That way maybe you can get up on your own in a reasonable amount of time. I can laugh about this now, but a couple of months ago when I was having a bad flare up, I was like that for weeks. Well, even then it was kinda funny.

**********************************

U Might have RA if: you have two pairs of shoes in your wardrobe; a black pair of Teva flip-flops and a hot pink pair for special occasions.

U Might have RA if: You have to hold your elbow up to brush your teeth

******************************

How about when you’re driving and you’re trying hard not to have to put the brakes on because it hurts too much to move your leg or press the brakes with your foot. You end up driving slow so you don’t have to stop.”

********************************

Anyone want to continue the lively discussion?

U might have RA if…

~ by thetruthaboutjra on February 19, 2009.

10 Responses to ““U might have RA if…””

  1. I have done the Clearvite detox 3 times Robin and felt really great on it and when I was finished. First a long one and then 2 short and I still drink it everyday to get vitamins. Let’s chat on email if you wold like more info. You can also check it out online. Loved the you might have RA if……cancer sure does seem appealing at times and then yes you realize how absurd that seems….have a wonderful time with your friends.

  2. How funny! I can totally relate to the bra, except it was my kids that helped me and I have experienced not being able to get off the toilet more than once(sad when you are excited the handicap stall is open and you can use the handles to help you get up). Oh, and trying to get out of the tub – fortunately our border collie will wake individuals in our house up by command since I was once in the tub early in the morning hoping to feel better and couldn’t get out. I now make sure my husband is up and available to help me.

    Thanks for this post. It reminds us we aren’t in this alone and sometimes we just have to laugh at what is happening so we don’t spend every moment crying.

  3. I can so relate to this, especially when you said “you catch yourself daydreaming about what it would be like to instead have some dramatic and romantic disease, like maybe some highly curable form of cancer…how everyone would crowd around you and support you, tell you how brave you are, etc…instead of giving you those funny looks that say “are you sure this isn’t all in your head?”

    Then you realize that you are fantasizing about having CANCER, for goodness sake, and you have to laugh at yourself and the absurdity of it all!”

    I am glad I am not the only one.

  4. These are great! I actually made it one of my top resolutions this year to stop getting stuck in the tub. I think the secret may be to just buy a big hot tub with handles and ladders. Heh.

  5. cathy- that is so neat about the border collie. i need one!

  6. kirstin- the big hot tub would be great! if you find a place giving them away for free please tell me haha

  7. Great discussion, I don’t know if I would laugh about having RA, my child has systemic JRA, and as a parent all I want to do is cry. Its not funny at all, our lives are miserable. My child is only 7 years old and can’t play, she can’t even put on her cloths to make it to the bathroom. Yeah real funny. What’s funny is that I typed in hot tubs for JRA, and ended up on this loser blog. Nice! Yeah, nice about dreaming of cancer. Because my child has Systemic JRA, her lymp nodes were 2 inches in diameter. Just talk to a Cancer Doctor. She just had a biopsy done.

    Why don’t you people spend your time educating yourselves and log onto http://www.raceforcarra.com and find out how children with JRA suffer. Its not funny trust me!

    I know that you have to laugh at yourself, but for children is sad and they aren’t laughing and neither are the parents.

    • Liv,
      I have systemic juvenile rheumatoid arthritis and was diagnosed when I was 11 years old. After 10 years (6 different meds, life-threatening side effects including pre-lymphoma, bone marrow biopsies, infusions, re-learning how to get dressed, having to quit lacrosse and ballet, thousands or tears, hundreds of doctors appointments and a decade of disappointment), all you can do is find humor in a disease that ruins (or changes for the better) your life. You will see in time what I mean. I am sorry that you haven’t found a way to laugh at life’s injustices yet. In time it will come. I’m sorry to hear that your daughter is suffering so much, hopefully she will not be in this flare for too long. My mother and I understand yours and her pain as it is a very difficult thing to go through childhood and adolescence without the ability to laugh, play, and move with your friends. Luckily, I was able to keep a smile on my face and know that life would give me happy moments despite the overwhelming emotional and physical pain. Perhaps we who responded to this discussion are all disappointed with our life’s challenges and feel that we were served an unjust slice of life’s pie…and now we deal with it through laughing at how unjust it really is and how much pain it causes us. I can say from experience, after I fall into the tub from two feet because I can’t bend my knees enough, I have to laugh at myself instead of cry to ease the pain. Laughing eases the pain whereas crying perpetuates it. I hope you all find a way to live happily with this disease, which is what we here are trying to do. I am here to talk if you ever need support or a laugh 🙂
      Robin

      • They say laughter is the BEST medicine! I am a newbie to RA just diagnoised this summer. I try to remember that getting mad, sad or discouraged adds to my pity party-however if I can add laughter to my day it eases my feelings of frustration. Laugh until you cry-it’s so worth it!

  8. Hey Robin, I enjoyed your list. But I cringe when I read this. I don’t think anybody can truly understand the daily pain people go through. My father in law suffered with RA for 20 years. He committed suicide last summer. I so miss him. But one day, he just snapped and couldn’t stand one more hour of pain. Being on pain relievers for 20 years just wouldn’t touch the pain anymore. I am so glad you can laugh! I wish he would of let us help him more, but only God can take away the pain from life. Please keep writing..we need your wisdom and attitude of life!

Leave a Reply

 
