High School

Did you ever think you would walk through your high school again? I didn’t think I ever would, but I did today. I found myself walking past all the artwork hanging exactly where my artwork used to hang. I saw the same security officer in the same green and gold sweatshirt walking through the main lobby with his clipboard. And… I saw the same secretary (who was the mother of a kid in my grade) treat a boy walking through the office like a piece of trash.  She was talking on the phone and the student walked through the office on his way out. She stuck out her hand a went  EH EH EH! and mouthed “Get over here right now.” When she finally hung up the phone, she said this to him: “What were you doing? I was trying to get your attention before the phone rang and you blew right past me.” The poor guy goes, “You said Preston…Preston isn’t my name. I’m Andrew.”  Something must have been up her rear end because she said, “That doesn’t matter. I was trying to get your attention and from now on you have to stop and listen to me. And you are not allowed to walk through this office like that. You have to walk around to the other door.”

I felt so sorry for the guy. I had forgotten how everyone who works in a high school treats the students like they would treat their own misbehaving kids. I saw him in the hallway a few minutes later and wanted to tell him, “It gets better. Just hang in there.”

So, not only did I get to go to my high school today, I got to go to both my old high schools. I transferred to another one halfway. I had a significantly better experience at the second one today. The registrar was my favorite lady in the school and she always talked to you like a friend. She was always on our side (the students) instead of the evil Upper School administrator. When I walked in her office today, the lights were off as usual because she keeps her blinds open and lets the sunlight come in. She jumped up and gave me a hug and was really excited to see me. It was so good to see her and made my difficult (to say the least) day better.

I guess you’re wondering why I went to my high schools today. I’ve kind of realized that it may be better for me to stay closer to home for awhile–for longer than just one semester. So, I’m applying to schools closer to my parents home. I haven’t really had to think much about it because right now I’m just scrambling to get the applications in. My plan is to wait it out until this summer and see how I feel. I don’t want to have to make a decision right now when I’m in so much pain. I’m just doing this in case of the worst.

~ by thetruthaboutjra on February 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
