Emu Oil

Yes, emu oil. Like the animal…the emu.

I’ve been going to a massage therapist for a month or so to help drain the fluid from my joints and loosen up the scar tissue. She’s been using Emu oil on my joints because it is a pain reliever. At first when she told me what she was using I thought it was just an odd name, but a few minutes later I was thinking to myself, “Wait, that sounds a lot like the bird Emu. oh god. is she rubbing animal fat on me? ohgodohgod.” I asked her if it was in fact from the animal, and she confirmed my suspicions. Yep, I was having Emu fat rubbed all over my arms and hands and legs.

So I cringed for a bit, then I smelled a nice lavendar-y lemon smell and thought, this isn’t so bad. And then my wrists felt better for a few hours after the massage, better than they felt after massages without the oil, so I guess it really does work. She always puts the oil on first, then wraps the joint in a warm damp towel, and lets it sit for a few minutes before working on the joint.

She gave me some to use at home, and I’ve been putting it on under the towel and letting it sink into my skin. It really does make my joints feel better. It doesn’t take all the pain away, but it’s better than nothing for sure.

All of the information online about emu oil is from sites selling it. I haven’t found a good one yet, but if I do, I’ll post it!

~ by thetruthaboutjra on February 28, 2009.

4 Responses to “Emu Oil”

  1. This sounds great right now. I am going to have to look into this for my knee. Thanks. Cathy

  2. I haven’t used emu oil before but I know a lot of people who do and only have good things to say about it. The fact that it is animal fat bothers me a little bit too. I’m glad it’s working for you though. When I first started doing massage I had a lot of wrist and hand pain too.

  3. I came across this blog – interesting read

  4. Emu Oil really is brilliant stuff. Glad it is working for you, I’ve been using it for my RSI.

Leave a Reply

 
