Progress Update

The moon at 12pm today

the moon in the middle of the day!

Well, I haven’t posted about my progress recently and I thought it might be a good idea since I started a lot of new things two weeks ago. If you’ve just started reading, don’t worry, I’m going to do some follow-up posts this week to explain a few of these things. Here goes:

The “avoiding nightshades project” was a huge failure because it turns out they are in everything! I ate some things without even realizing what I was eating. So, I’m going to try it again starting today and hopefully I will be successful.

I have been on a rotation diet for two weeks now and it is a lot easier than it sounds. Basically, if I eat something, I can’t have it again for four days. I’m still doing that for awhile so that I avoid gaining any new allergies.

I’m supposed to be eating gluten-free because I am close to being “borderline sensitive” to the stuff (so I didn’t take it seriously) but looking back on this past summer when I was feeling great, I remembered that I was doing gluten-free, so I must start that again.

I have been trying to do sugar free because of the candida problem, but the ultra inflammx shake has about 9 grams of sugar and I’ve noticed the candida symptoms coming back. I’ve noticed how sensitive I am to sugar. In the past when I pig out on sugar one day, my body is killing me the next, so I’m being strict strict strict about no sugar starting today.

I’ve stopped eating eggs contrary to my nutritionist’s advice to eat more. It’s because of the high levels of arachadonic acid in eggs. Arachadonic acid is the precursor to an inflammation-causing immune cell in the body. I will post about that later this week.

I’m still going down on prednisone. Everyday I learn more about the horrible flares that can happen as a result of going off prednisone. I’m down to 5mgs every other day and 6mgs on the other days. On Saturday I’m going to 5mgs everyday for a few weeks. I need to build up my adrenal strength…I’m taking a supplement right now, but I’m doing more research to find more stuff to help.

So, it appears that I am not doing so well because I am having to make changes. I am really confident that stopping the sugar intake will help a lot. I’m also planning a major 30-day detox for the near future because of the link between body toxicity and food allergies/autoimmune disorders.

So, posts this week will be about: arachadonic acid, candida, detoxing, nightshades, and a new book I’m reading called “The Anatomy of the Spirit”. woooo. lots to write!

~ by thetruthaboutjra on March 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “Progress Update”

  1. Reading your reactions to different foods is like reading something I wrote about myself. I’ve not gotten a formal diagnosis for my illness but I share many symptoms and sub-illnesses with you. If you ever want to compare notes let me know.

  2. Your persistence and will is going to pay off, you are strong and determined! I notice big changes in my body when I decide to induldge in a surgary treat, ugh……and you are right night shades are a challenge but eliminating them will be well worth it. I have also read The Anatomy of the Spirit, a wonderful book for everyone! Keep plugging away, remind yourself daily that you are well or find an affirmation that you can repeat over and over, even if you don’t beleive it right now repeat it throughout the day. You are in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

 
