Happiness and healing

Well, I’ve been a little bit MIA for the past week or so because I’m doing a lot of re-focusing.

The farm was great this weekend by the way. I got to see my sister and brother who are both great motivators for me. Seeing all that they do makes me want to get up and get things done. My friend Kim who I’ve known for about 13, maybe 14 years, came to visit too and she always reminds me of what good friends I have. Being around those people helped me to know that I have a lot of support and love around me which I am so thankful for right now.

But, it was rainy all weekend, which was a bummer. I think the rain brings out the worst of my arthritis symptoms because I had it in my left ankle so badly that I couldn’t walk on it. I crawled backwards down the stairs on Saturday morning and the black cat hopped down each step one at a time with me! He was probably completely confused, but it was sweet. It wasn’t so bad though because I was making a birthday cake for my brother that day and I didn’t have to walk much, just hobble between cabinets.

Which brings me to my next thought…

I am now going to an “energy healer” or medical intuitive, whichever you prefer. I don’t think they’re interchangeable, but she seems to have qualities of both. An energy healer finds places in your body where energy is blocked and places a hand or two lightly on you while “moving” energy around to break through the blockage. Meanwhile, you are given instructions on visual exercises that involve imagining energy of different colors flowing through your body in certain directions. The medical intuitive-ness comes in when she makes connections between the locations of the energy blockages and certain emotional centers in the body. For example, my 2nd and 3rd chakras are completely blocked (they are the ones over you pelvis and belly button, respectively) which makes sense because I have horrible digestive problems and I feel sharps pains under my ribcage sometimes. So, she then related that blockage to some emotional things: The 3rd chakra correlates to your expression of yourself in the material world/creativity/and some other things. She basically told me that I need to find a reason to get up in the morning and be excited about the day. I started crying when she elaborated because she was basically telling me that the way my energy felt gave her the impression that I hold it all in the upper four chakras and have huge blockages that are draining my energy levels. I am not letting myself do what I love to do and I am not expressing myself creatively. I can’t hold onto my energy and it’s no wonder that I am not getting over this cold or digesting properly. So, the cake-making this weekend was probably a good good good thing. I love to bake!

Long and short, I laid on a table and she did some energy work. I left and felt like smiling for the first time in awhile. We decided that I need to paint more and write that book that I’ve been thinking about. I went straight to Michael’s, picked up some paint supplies, went to Whole Foods and got some good food., came home and made my bedroom and bathroom my own special spaces by cleaning up, rearranging things and putting some daffodils by my tub.

If you want to know more about energy healing and the connection between emotions, spirituality and disease, I really recommend reading “Anatomy of the Spirit” by Caroline Myss. I know she has others, but this is the first one I’ve read! I’ll keep you all updated on my progress with healing my energy.

~ by thetruthaboutjra on March 17, 2009.

6 Responses to “Happiness and healing”

  1. I have the book on reserve at the library. It must be popular because I reserved it a while back and there were others before me. I can’t wait to learn more.

  2. I fully believe you can not heal RA unless you first heal your spririt and take care of yourself emotionally. You are right on track, it can be a long hard road but you are not alone.

  3. thank you for all your support jill! i feel like i’m on the right track too!

  4. From reading some of what you wrote I get the feeling I may be speaking to the converted, but someone who does not know may benefit from this message. Autoimmune diseases are interesting and scary there are approximately 80 to 100 with another 40 waiting for a name. Medical science cannot explain why and has not found a cure for even one. You can trigger one of them just by having an auto accident, taking aspirin, medication or by starting a new exercise routine; even too much stress says latest research. Naturopathic medicine says, “Look for the root, it is in the basics beginning with what is on your fork, what toxins are in your body, what exercise do you do, what stress is in your life, what is your spiritual base”. Scientific arrogance has led us down the wrong path we better stop and take a close look at what is happening. This month 144 new chemicals will be added with no oversite control at all. Autoimmune disease is the worst kind of contradiction; for an RA or JRA you are attacking your joints with your immune system, a world upside down. God bless you in your search.

    Sincerely
    Paul

  5. Hi Robin, Don’t faint but cynical lil’ ol’ me has actually had some positive experiences with this kind of thing, for all it goes seriously against my grain. The fact I ended up going out with the guy and he was a total is neither here nor there; the point is that what he did worked. Nothing to do with RA, ’cause it was years before that all happened, but still …

    Fortunately the healing effects lasted even after hubby (who wasn’t hubby at the time obviously) came along on his white charger and rescued me from a disastrous relationship with the evil magician! .

    • pp- haha you always make me laugh with your stories. I’m happy to hear of someone else who had good results with the energy-healing or whatever it is! I am experiencing wonderful results and hope it continues!!!
      robin

Leave a comment