RA Support

Hiiiii everyone!

Today I officially started an RA/JRA support group in my area! I’m really excited. I am still in the process of publicizing the group. I’ve set up a blog to post info about the group and meeting times and such. My plan is to visit my old schools and talk to the nurses to let them know about the group so that they can talk to any students who have JRA. I am also going to let all of my health practitioners know. I’ve already emailed all of my friends, family and doctors about the group asking them to talk to anyone they know in the area with RA. This part is kind of silly, but it was fun: I made little business cards with the contact info that I can keep in my purse and hopefully set in some of the health care offices I go to every week. And I’m going to make some flyers that I can put up.

I’m thinking that we’ll want to get to know each other for the first few meetings and then after that we could have some speakers come talk about things like foods that cause inflammation, we can start a group for the Arthritis 5K in May, do potlucks, water aerobics, etc. I hope it all works out.

I’m so excitedddddd! If any of you are members of support groups or have started a support group and have any advice for me, let me know!

~ by thetruthaboutjra on March 20, 2009.

6 Responses to “RA Support”

  1. What a great idea! I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  2. Love it!

  3. Good job! Let me know how it goes- I’d love to have one in this area.

  4. This is just what I would like to see here. Where is your group? My daughter and I would both love to help!

  5. Please let me know whatever you can about starting a support group for JRA. My 13 year old son (was diagnosed at 10) is just in the planning stages of starting a JRA teen/youth group in our area and he doesn’t know where/how to begin…Please help!

Leave a Reply

 
